I'm hoping the holiday went well for some people. I heard that on the East side of the country, everyone is experiencing Mother Nature at her finest. Boo to having to post-pone Halloween. :-( I never used to understand what the fuss was over for this holiday, but with age; I've come to realize it can be a lot more fun. Mostly just the dressing up part. And no, I don't mean the really "lack of dressing up" costumes either. I-with the help of my relatives-pulled together a really sweet Native American costume for the evening! :-)
My friend, Brent and I decided to hit West Hollywood this Halloween. (Last year we went to a teeny little bar/club in Orange County and it was really fun, but too small for Brent.) Because we were going as a costume duo, we went as a 'cowboy and indian' theme. Personally, I thought our costumes turned out really adorable. Even once we arrived in West Hollywood, we looked at each other and said, "We look really cute." (laughs) No vanity intended.
Last year we went as bunny's. (gags)
Anyhow, we had planned out almost a year in advance the trip to WeHo. We live about an hour and a half away and personally, I despise driving anywhere near LA. I have to do it every now and then and every time it's this total event for me. I am not okay with driving in LA traffic but gradually, I've gotten the hang of it. We always get lost, or freak out in traffic, or...get lost mostly. (Thank God for iPhone because the directions/map app is a lifesaver.) But we've learned just to drive really, really rude. Does that even make sense? It should. Just drive like you're really angry always. Cutting people off gets easier with time. (laughs) I'm kidding. (Sorta.)
Once we paid our fifteen bucks for parking, we were all set. The carnival itself is on Santa Monica Boulevard and by the time we got there, we were maybe an hour late to the original time it was supposed to start. The place wasn't deserted but it definitely was not too busy.
Hard to believe that by the ending of the night it was said on the news that there were over 500,000 (!!!) people there. (shrugs) Go figure.
The costumes people were sporting were unbelievable. Brent reassured me all night long that what we were seeing was actually considered quite conservative. I kept wondering how anyone wasn't freezing. I froze all night long. Brrrr!
Now I think Brent and I had really high expectations for the WeHo carnival. We had an awesome time, don't get me wrong, but I think we just were kind of hoping for more excitement or really, more things to do. Really, I just wanted to dance more. (Boots n' cats? haha) The downside to both of us not quite being twenty-one was that we couldn't get into any of the clubs and bars we wanted to go to on Santa Monican Blvd. But oh well.
Next year, Brent says.
(laughs)
On the upside, the costumes were an attraction in and of themselves. I can understand why people go totally out to make them. People go crazy! It's like they're celebrities. :-)
These guys totally loved Brent.
Picoooo and her undying love! <3
I almost offered up a sweater.
;-)
Hope everyone else had an excellent holiday!! I guess this means we have to start getting ready for Christmas? (laughs) Oh gee.
-Kristen <3
haha such a great post!!
ReplyDeleteLOVE west hollywood for halloweeeny!!
xx-
www.samplesize16.com