Saturday, November 19, 2011

A-Maizing Harvest Dress

Good Day everyone!


It's a wonderful day here in SoCal. The clouds have rolled in and there definitely is a threat of rain.
:-) My favorite. Anyways, I'm still recovering from my little cold. I really am sick and tired of being sick. (Laughs) But anyway; a few days before I came down with my cold, I decided to splurge and purchase a few things from a couple of my favorite online shops. Yesterday my package arrived from the one and only Modcloth! I couldn't wait to get home and try on the what I bought.
Here's my first dress from ModCloth..


Ignore my messy room.


Here's some of the detailing on the chest. Sorry for the boob shot haha!
The Poofy Sleeves = <3


Paired with slouchy boots




So this is Modcloth's A-Maizing Harvest Dress. I adore it!
The Pros are that it's really versatile. I could either wear it now during autumn or even late spring/summer. The cons are ( I admit ) mostly just because I'm a larger girl, I can't just throw on the dress and walk out the door. In order to kind of hide all my unwanted bumps and curves, I have to pair it with a slip.
Other than that though, I really love the dress and I plan on wearing it to my families big Thanksgiving dinner.
I do have to apologize about the amateur photography and my lack of really dressing this dress up. Like I said; I'm still sick and it is a cloudy day. ;-) Next time, I'll have something much nicer to show y'all.


Dress- Modcloth
Belt- Thrifted
Boots- Torrid


-Kristen <3



Thursday, November 17, 2011

Sniffles Time

Aw man.

I do have to apologize for the lack of posts. Believe it or not; but I have maybe three or four unfinished posts sitting in my drafts right now. It isn't because I don't want to post anything, because I really, really do! It's just that... it's that time of the year.

The time of the year when I get really sick and refuse to do anything.

I hate being sick just like I would hope everyone would. At least once or twice during the fall-winter season, I catch something from either my family, work, or school. Whatever I catch usually tends to dwell in my system for well over a few weeks. It's absolutely annoying. My room is currently littered with balls of tissues, tubs of Vicks Vapor Rub, and empty tea glasses.
When I first realized I might be coming down with something was last Thursday. I was at work and had a little itch in the back of my throat. It was kind of quiet-for the moment at least-at work so I turned to my coworker, cleared my throat and said, "I think I might be getting a sore throat."
He turned and looked at me and with a roll of his eyes said, "You cookie."

So of course I refused to whine the rest of the day because I was sure he'd continue to make fun of me about it. Just like that though, the sore throat began to persist until it was full on discomfort as I left at the ending of my shift that very same day. It was a shame because the next day was the second day of snowboard season. And guess who was invited to learn snowboarding for their very first time?:
This girl!!


I would post pictures but I'm still waiting for my friend to send them to me. I would not have dared to take my camera with me. I'm glad I didn't. I don't think I've ever fallen so much in my life.
Anyways; since that little itch in my throat, I haven't been feeling too hot. The sore throat I was able to overcome within a few days. But the constant coughing, sneezing, sniffling? No. Not even a little.

When I went into work a few days ago, the same coworker who called me a cookie, laughed and asked if I was sick (due to my raspy, crackly voice). I just glared and answered yes. Then he proceeded to wonder when and how.
"How? How could you sick? You're Kristen." were his exact words.

Not sure how that makes a difference but apparently being me is what makes me less likely to be sick.
So for now, I'm just going to take it easy. I really do hate being sick though. The world doesn't stop for you when you're sickly. You have to keep moving with it which is the worst part considering I still have school, work, and other things to focus on. Any cold remedies or secrets you'd like to share? :-)

--Kristen <3

(p.s. I'm so sick and tired that I haven't proofread this yet. Please excuse my mess.)

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Happy (late) Halloween

Hello everyone!
I'm hoping the holiday went well for some people. I heard that on the East side of the country, everyone is experiencing Mother Nature at her finest. Boo to having to post-pone Halloween. :-( I never used to understand what the fuss was over for this holiday, but with age; I've come to realize it can be a lot more fun. Mostly just the dressing up part. And no, I don't mean the really "lack of dressing up" costumes either. I-with the help of my relatives-pulled together a really sweet Native American costume for the evening! :-)
My friend, Brent and I decided to hit West Hollywood this Halloween. (Last year we went to a teeny little bar/club in Orange County and it was really fun, but too small for Brent.) Because we were going as a costume duo, we went as a 'cowboy and indian' theme. Personally, I thought our costumes turned out really adorable. Even once we arrived in West Hollywood, we looked at each other and said, "We look really cute." (laughs) No vanity intended.


Last year we went as bunny's. (gags)


Anyhow, we had planned out almost a year in advance the trip to WeHo. We live about an hour and a half away and personally, I despise driving anywhere near LA. I have to do it every now and then and every time it's this total event for me. I am not okay with driving in LA traffic but gradually, I've gotten the hang of it. We always get lost, or freak out in traffic, or...get lost mostly. (Thank God for iPhone because the directions/map app is a lifesaver.) But we've learned just to drive really, really rude. Does that even make sense? It should. Just drive like you're really angry always. Cutting people off gets easier with time. (laughs) I'm kidding. (Sorta.)
Once we paid our fifteen bucks for parking, we were all set. The carnival itself is on Santa Monica Boulevard and by the time we got there, we were maybe an hour late to the original time it was supposed to start. The place wasn't deserted but it definitely was not too busy.
Hard to believe that by the ending of the night it was said on the news that there were over 500,000 (!!!) people there. (shrugs) Go figure.
The costumes people were sporting were unbelievable. Brent reassured me all night long that what we were seeing was actually considered quite conservative. I kept wondering how anyone wasn't freezing. I froze all night long. Brrrr!
Now I think Brent and I had really high expectations for the WeHo carnival. We had an awesome time, don't get me wrong, but I think we just were kind of hoping for more excitement or really, more things to do. Really, I just wanted to dance more. (Boots n' cats? haha) The downside to both of us not quite being twenty-one was that we couldn't get into any of the clubs and bars we wanted to go to on Santa Monican Blvd. But oh well.
Next year, Brent says.
(laughs)
On the upside, the costumes were an attraction in and of themselves. I can understand why people go totally out to make them. People go crazy! It's like they're celebrities. :-)












These guys totally loved Brent.

















Picoooo and her undying love! <3













I almost offered up a sweater.
;-)











Hope everyone else had an excellent holiday!! I guess this means we have to start getting ready for Christmas? (laughs) Oh gee.

-Kristen <3