Friday, October 28, 2011

Stepping Out With My Baby

I had an awesome idea this morning.

"I'm going to do something I haven't done since middle school."
That something was tucking in my shirt. See, the only time I tuck in my shirt is at work. So I gave it a shot and surprisingly enough, I liked it far more tucked in than let out.

The tucked in look is kind of a fun, classic twist. I wish I had figured out how much I liked it earlier. (laughs)
I took a look at some celebrities who pulled off the look rather nicely and decided that whatever I planned on leaving the house in for the day, I was going to tuck in the top. I settled with some jeans and a tank top accompanied by a cardigan and sandals.

My friend and I toyed with my camera and here we are!




The last one was just an example of how almost all of the pictures came out. It made us appreciate and admire all the bloggers who can do fashion blogging seriously. I kept laughing, he kept getting his fingers in the way, and overall we could not stop goofing around. Also, I realize I'm not exactly the most fashionable person. I'm in dire need of new clothes. But I wanted to give it a shot so (shrugs); here we are. :-) Any suggestions are welcomed. Next time, I would probably wear a more flared jean.

If interested:
Top: Forever 21
Cardigan: Torrid
Jeans: JC Pennies
Sandals: [gift] Forever 21

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Update: Trunk

I'm really bad at things like... DIY's.
I just don't have a lot of time for it. Especially since I was just signed over as full time at the hotel. I'd been working these really long, painful hours without any benefits. So basically, I was full time but I wasn't "officially" full time on the papers. But now I am which is great but I still don't have much time to do things I've been meaning to do.
The trunk; the wonderful, wonderful trunk has been one thing I've wanted to work on for a while. One morning I woke up and just started sanding the rusted nails on the trunk until they shined silver. It took me hours to do this one thing. And in the end, it just did not look that spectacular anyways. I saw how the top looked nice with the nails but the rest of the trunk needed some serious work. And by the time I was done sanding off the nails and bolts, I glanced at the clock and noticed that I had to get ready for work.
I'm totally aware that I could be working on this thing for days. Even months if I really wanted to. But I realized that no matter how much time I took to work on this thing, it was never going to be quite right because I was never going to have the patience. Not with me constantly worrying about work and school as it was. There were too many other things. Too many tiny, itty, bitty things that occupied my mind more than the trunk. And the trunk was just sitting there in the backyard on a work table waiting patiently for me.
Then I thought about what I really wanted to do with the trunk. What did I plan on putting in it? What exactly could I put in it? Shoes? Hats? It's not like I had very many of those 2 things anyways. It seemed like a waste to clean up something that would only sit in my room anyways. But I liked the trunk. And I bought it. And I wanted to keep it. So as I stared at my eye sore of a bookshelf with lots of records and books falling out, I figured out a way to utilize my trunk.
Thus!!!:
TAA-DAA!!

I created the record player trunk...thing!!
Now I think how neat it would be to be put this thing on a stand but it's cool as it is for now. (Why would I start another DIY when I can't even handle the ones I have now? [laughs]) Plus I can just shut the top to keep the records from getting dusty. Which they do get pretty frequently.
Anyways, that was my story of the trunk and its outcome. :)
Have you ever had trouble following through with a DIY??
Till next time.
--Kristen <3

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Aaaghh!

Hey Everyone,

So I'm thinking 'Inspirational Sunday' will be pushed back just a few days. ):
I'm so sorry for the lack of upkeep on my posts. It's so funny when life happens and actually keeping up with writing gets pushed behind to the back burner.
Anyhow, bare with me here.

In the mean while though, I've been considering posting some of my writings. I love to write a lot! But I'm so self conscious of my writings. (Working on that too!) I've thought about making just a separate page and just linking it to With Yellow Feathers. If anyone is ever interested where I came up with my lovely name of this blog, I would be more than happy to tell that story. It's a brief one. (Laughs)
In the spirit of Sundays and my love for Bed & Breakfast's here are some beautiful pictures of Inn's I would one day love to visit.


This is the Normandy Inn in New Jersey. This right here is the type of Inn I'd like to visit and perhaps even run one of these days. I love the really eastern, square, fresh, Victorian style to this B&B.

This is Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast in Washington. This place looks so amazing. And it's tucked away against a hill on and Island! Orcas Island to be exact. It's such a homey looking Inn.

The Bright Morning Bed and Breakfast is the absolute perfect mixture of cute and teeny. It's tucked away in a town called West Newton, Pennsylvania. (Did I get that right?) Near a little river. Sooo adorable!

Live in the UK? This is Pethhead Cottage in Northeast England! I sigh when I look at the ivy creeping up the walls. It looks so quaint and sooo... English. If I make my way to the UK one of these days, this is on my list of places to stay.


Amelia Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast is in Florida of all states! It has such a Delaware, Virginian look to it I would have never had thunk. It's probably because it's close to the border of Georgia. :)

Say howdy to Inn on the Riverwalk, located in Texas! I'm very upset that on my road trip during the summer through Texas, we did not stop to stay at this beauty.


If anyone is ever interested in staying in an amazing Inn/Bed & Breakfast, there's always Bed and Breakfast [dot] com. That lovely little website will show you some incredible places to stay.
Till later.
-Kristen <3

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Inspired Sunday

Good Day everyone!
I would like to introduce to my blog every Sunday as... (!!!) Inspired Sunday!
Yahh! (cheers)
Every weekend I like to start preparing myself for the upcoming week by hunting down pictures that are inspirations to me. (Yes, this is very much like a lot of Blogs 'Things I Like Thursdays', but just work with me here. :-) )

Since is is one goal of mine to own my own Inn or Bed & Breakfast, I often find myself searching for inspirational pictures that I would give me ideas of my own future B&B. I really hope to have a very vintage, victorian, green, whimsical, soft theme to my Inn. (laughs) Is that too much to ask?

Anyways, here are just a few of my favorite inspirational photos.


I love Clawfoot Tubs. <3

                                     
I adore the really calm, country look to this one.




I love the color of this Inn. And the lighthouse. So amazing.




Anyways, most of these photos I found online on like 'Country Home and Gardens'. The magazine is magical.
What are some of your most inspirational things? :)

-<3 Kristen





Friday, October 14, 2011

Secret Love

Most people say they can read me like an open book.
That mostly makes me sad because I'd like to believe that I'm somewhat complex. (Laughs)
Anyways, I have this really awesome secret love. I've had this secret love since I was a little girl; wearing jean shorts and over-sized anime print shirts.
When I was thirteen, I was introduced into the world of comic books. Oh gosh, I loved comic books. I loved all sortsss of comic books. As long as it was a graphic novel of some sort, I was throwing my nickles and quarters down to purchase a ten dollar book I would read in one day.
Anyhow, this love bloomed through the years. (I was interested in writing beforehand but) I started writing my own comic books, drawing my own characters, watching anime/cartoons day in and day out. It was an obsession. High school can be so cruel though because when I had a disgustingly large, monstrous crush on my best friend's boyfriend; I decided that comics, anime, and manga were no longer cool.
Basically, I grew out of it.
But not really.
I've always had a bit of a soft spot for anime and manga. I like to believe it's like a nostalgia thing. Like, Sailor Moon and Dragon Ball Z. 90's kids grew up on that stuff.
 My love might be a gimme though since I've attended the anime expo since 2005...? I think? Yeah that sounds about right.
AND every year, I love watching people cosplay. Which is my secret love.

Cosplay.

Siiiggh... Something about the time and effort people put into making these amazing costumes is so neat. I stalk cosplayers online all the time. It's starting to become unhealthy. So! My goal for this years anime expo coming up in July of 2012, (Gotta start planning early! Hellooo!) is to actually cosplay with both the amateur and big kids this year.
My good friend Brent and I are coming up with some really good ideas. I will admit though, they're just good. We want something great! But not so complex because we suck at sewing. (Also on my list of things to do this year.)
So far we've got these ideas going for us:

Lina Inverse and Gourry from Slayers!
I love these two. They're so cute and funny.
The only problem with this cosplay is that Brent, my dearest gayest, guy friend will not wear a blond wig. Or any wig for that matter. And we could not pull off this cosplay if he didn't wear a wig. He's a Pacific Islander, European, Japanese mix. He has dark hair.



So we move on.


Nurse Joy (Or Misty) and Ash Ketchum from Pokemon!
Simple and effective. Probably the best choice for our first cosplay. I just don't know if I (me personally) will pull off these characters as well. (Laughs) We'll see.




Lastly!

The two main characters from Grenadier!
We both really like the characters. My boobs aren't near big enough to fill the female role. But Brent likes that he wont have to wear a wig. The only problem is that we haven't watched more than like...2 episodes. I don't know. I always feel like part of cosplaying is knowing the characters at least somewhat.







Anyhow, this is just my little bit of sharing of my secret and my secret plans. Is is not considered a secret now? (Laughs)
What do you think? 1, 2, or 3? Or is there another anime/manga you could recommend? And what about actually watching the anime? Should you before you cosplay or is a naw, go get 'em tiger! Who cares?

Thanks y'all!
-Kristen

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Vintage Chaiiir-Reupholster

So I am in the process of sanding down and reupholstering this lovely chair I found at a yard sale.
And I just finished taking off a lot of the peeling paint. (Most of it at least.)
I think I may just paint a white shade on top of the legs because I kind of like that 'shabby chic-old peeling paint' look. But as for the actual coverings on the seating goes, I'm not sure what to do. I really actually do like the green. It gives it that wonderful vintage feel. However, it needs to be replaced. (Lots of holes and the stuffing is coming out, you know.)
Sooo if anyone has any ideas with a link to a pattern that I can purchase, I would appreciate it! (Or just ideas/pictures in general, it'll give me a good idea of what I need to look for.)
I plan on taking it to someone in town who will apply the covering professionally of course, but I'm just not sure what to put on top. Any help would be great!








Theses are just some of the ideas I was looking at..?
haha!





--Many thanks,
Kristen <3

Friday, October 7, 2011

Feather Headband: Elise on Blowfish

Good morning everyone!
I'm listening to Fats Waller. He makes me want to ballroom dance with my dad.
Anyhow, so who is going to celebrate Halloween this year? My friend Brent and I are going to drive into Hollywood and join the festivities! Yahoo! We're going to go as a Native American-Cowboy duo. Brent being the cowboy, me the Native American. I've been mostly thrifting everything for my costume but it was the headpiece I was really worried about since I didn't know what I was going to do.
Just a feather sticking up in the back of a headband sounded kind of boring.
Then I stumbled across this (via Facebook): (Clicky) Elise's DIY Feather Headpiece on Blowfish Shoes!
Hot damn! I thought. I mean, that is the most perfect feather headpiece ever. And I love Blowfish shoes. Win-Win? Anyhow, so I started working on it. I'm terrible at DIY stuff. 
(Update on the trunk btw: there is none. ]: ) 
But this is actually turning out kind of nice. :) So hopefully I'll be done with it soon. I just have to do the other side and braid the headband together. And I will also post more pictures as the costume comes along.
Thank you Elise!
Also, Blowfish Shoes rock my socks. I do suggest to shop around there for cute shoes. :)


What it looks like laying out.
 
















How it will look put on.


--Kristen<3

Litte Chief Honeybee Giveaway

If you do not know of Kaelah Bee's fashion blog  "Little Chief Honeybee." yet then I for sure recommend you check her out.
Right.
Now.
But please finish reading this first!! Hee hee.
Every month Kaelah has a giveaway and she always gives away amazing stuff! This month her giveaway includes three (count them; three!!) Lomography cameras. They are pretty spiffy and will take amazing photos, of this I am sure. It really easy to enter and there are lots of opportunities for extra entries. So you can doubly your chances of winning. (Hoo-ray!)
And if you aren't interested in the giveaway *clicky*, then check out Kaelah and "Little Chief Honeybee" anyways. I can guarantee you, she is fashion blogging guru. :)

Monday, October 3, 2011

Breakfast in a Meadow

I'm currently in the process of trying to find some sort of organization to my chaos here. Haha! One of these days I'll figure out how to do all of this HTML stuff to make my blog beautiful. But for now, it's... coming along. Nice n' slowly.
Anyways!
My best friend is constantly in the mood for wedding stuff and she sent this to me a few months ago. I've always thought the pictures were just beautiful and if I were getting married, engagement photos in a meadow would be an absolute must!
But I'm single (Eyy' nuffin wrong wit dat) and maybe it'll be a consideration in the future. Enough about me, here's to you.


Please be sure to look here *clicky* for many more photos of this shoot and for more amazing vintage photos from Simply Bloom Photography. They're so beautiful!
:)

Sunday, October 2, 2011

First DIY: Trunk

I always buy old vintage furniture that needs serious love and promise that I'll completely repair it.
Always.
I wish my bedroom wasn't full of old rusty, paint-peeling, broken stuff that I hope to one day fix up.
Anyways, I found this lovely little trunk at a yard sale just a few days ago. For about 5 bucks, it looked like a really amazing investment. It seemed to be in good shape and I figured with a little TLC, it would be good as new.
Sooooo I'm hoping that this will be the first DIY project that I follow through with.
But this is my blank canvas.
                                                                  Sitting up right.
                                                                   Laying down.

I absolutely adore all the stickers on this trunk! They're too cool. I wish I could still find neat stickers like that. I'm surfing the web to find any DIY tutorials. If anyone finds anything, please tell me!! :)

More pictures of things that need work on it:


The only hinge that needs help.
Hanger for a handle? Uh no. Handle help too.